MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE AGMA EXECUTIVE BOARD HELD 29 JUNE 2018 AT TRAFFORD TOWN HALL

4

PRESENT:

Andy Burnham
Councillor Linda Thomas
Councillor Rishi Shori
Councillor Richard Leese
Councillor Sean Fielding
Councillor Allen Brett
City Mayor Paul Dennett
Councillor Alex Ganotis
Councillor Brenda Warrington
Councillor Andrew Western
Councillor Keith Cunliffe

OTHER MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:

TfGMC	Councillor Mark Aldred
Salford	Councillor Paula Boshell
Stockport	Councillor Wendy Wild
Wigan	Councillor Jenny Bullen

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE:

GMCA Chief Executive GMCA – Deputy Chief Executive GMCA – Monitoring Officer GMCA – Treasurer Office of the GM Mayor	Eamonn Boylan Andrew Lightfoot Liz Treacy Richard Paver Kevin Lee
Bolton	Gerry Brough
Bury	Paul Patterson
Oldham	Carolyn Wilkins
Manchester	Geoff Little
Rochdale	Steve Rumbelow
Salford	Jim Taylor
Stockport	Caroline Simpson
Tameside	Steven Pleasant
Trafford	Gill Colbert
Wigan	Donna Hall
	4

Manchester Growth Company	Mark Hughes
TfGM	Jon Lamonte
GMP	Ian Piling
GMFRS	Dawn Docx
GMCA	Julie Connor
GMCA	Sylvia Welsh
GMCA	Lindsay Dunn
GMCA	Nicola Ward

APOLOGIES:

Bolton	Tony Oakman
Bury	Pat Jones-Greenhalgh
Manchester	Joanne Roney
Stockport	Pam Smith
Trafford	Theresa Grant
Wigan	Cllr David Molyneux
GMHSC Partnership	Jon Rouse
GMP	lan Hopkins

AGMA 07/18 APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillor David Molyneux (Wigan), Tony Oakman (Bolton), Pat Jones-Greenhalgh (Bury), Joanne Roney (Manchester), Pam Smith (Stockport), Theresa Grant (Trafford), Jon Rouse (GMHSC Partnership) and Ian Hopkins (GMP).

AGMA 08/18 APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIR OF THE AGMA EXECUTIVE BOARD - 2018/19

RESOLVED /-

That the GM Mayor, Andy Burnham be appointed as Chair of the AGMA Executive Board for 2018/19.

AGMA 09/18 APPOINTMENT OF VICE CHAIRS OF THE AGMA EXECUTIVE BOARD - 2018/19

RESOLVED /-

That Councilors Richard Leese and Brenda Warrington be appointed as Vice Chairs of the AGMA Executive Board for 2018/19.

AGMA 10/18 AGMA CONSTITUTION

Liz Treacy, Monitoring Officer for the GMCA informed the Board that there were no changes to the AGMA Constitution.

RESOLVED /-

That the AGMA Constitution, as agreed by the AGMA Executive Board in November 2015, be noted.

AGMA 11/18 GREATER MANCHESTER APPOINTMENTS AND NOMINATIONS 2018/19

Julie Connor, Assistant Director for Governance and Scrutiny took members through the appointment and nominations report for 2018/19 which included appointments to AGMA and its committees, GM statutory bodies and outside bodies.

RESOLVED /-

1. That the following appointments from GM Local Authorities to the AGMA Executive Board for 2018/19, be noted:

District	Member	Substitute Member
GMCA	Andy Burnham	
Bolton	GM Mayor Mrs Linda Thomas (Lab)	Ebrahim Adia (Lab) Nicholas Peel (Lab)
Bury	Rishi Shori (Lab)	Andrea Simpson (Lab) Sharon Briggs (Lab)
Manchester	Richard Leese (Lab)	Sue Murphy (Lab) Nigel Murphy (Lab)
Oldham	Sean Fielding (Lab)	Arooj Shah (Lab) Abdul Jabbar (Lab)
Rochdale	Allen Brett (Lab)	Daalat Ali (Lab) Sara Rowbotham (Lab)
Salford	Paul Dennett (Lab)	John Merry (Lab) Paula Boshell (Lab)
Stockport	Alex Ganotis (Lab)	Wendy Wild (Lab) Kate Butler (Lab)
Tameside	Brenda Warrington (Lab)	Bill Fairfoull (Lab) Leanne Feeley (Lab)

Trafford	Andrew Western (Lab)	Mike Freeman (Lab)
		Cath Hynes (Lab)
Wigan	David Molyneux (Lab)	Keith Cuncliffe (Lab)
		Christopher Ready (Lab)

2. That the following appointments from GM Local Authorities to the Police and Crime Panel for 2018/19, be noted:

District	Member
Bolton	Mohammed Ayub (Lab)
Bury	Tamoor Tariq (Lab)
Manchester	Nigel Murphy (Lab)
Oldham	Steve Williams (Lab)
Rochdale	Janet Emsley (Lab)
Salford	David Lancaster (Lab)
Stockport	Sheila Bailey (Lab)
Tameside	Alison Gwynne (Lab)
Trafford	Mike Freeman (Lab)
Wigan	Kevin Anderson (Lab)
Co-opted member	Diane Curry
Co-opted member	Maqsood Ahmad

- 3. That it be noted that the appointment of the current 2 co-opted members to the Police and Crime Panel will expire in October 2018, following two three year appointment periods and that a recruitment process will be undertaken during July with a view appointing 2 new co-opted members for a three year period ending October 2020/21.
- 4. That the following appointments from GM Local Authorities to the GM Health Scrutiny Committee for 2018/19, be noted and that the substitute vacancies would be confirmed by GM Local Authorities:

District	Member	Substitute Member
Delta -		
Bolton	Stephen Pickup (Lab)	David Evans (Lab)
Bury	Stella Smith (Lab)	Vacancy
Manchester	Eve Holt (Lab)	Vacancy
Oldham	Colin McLaren (Lab)	Cath Ball (Lab)
Rochdale	Ray Dutton (Lab)	Patricia Sullivan (Cons)
Salford	Margaret Morris (Lab)	Vacancy
Stockport	Keith Holloway (Lib Dem)	John Taylor (Lab)
Tameside	Gill Peet (Lab)	Teresa Smith (Lab)
Trafford	Sophie Taylor (Lab)	Anne Duffield (Lab)

Wigan John O'Brien (Lab)	Ron Conway (Lab)
--------------------------	------------------

5. That the appointment of the following 10 members, nominated by the GM Local Authorities and the Housing, Planning and Homelessness portfolio lead to the Planning and Housing Commission for 2018/19, be approved:

District	Member
GMCA Portfolio Lead	Paul Dennett
Bolton	Nicholas Peel (Lab)
Bury	Eamonn O'Brien (Lab)
Manchester	Susan Richards (Lab)
Oldham	Hannah Roberts (Lab)
Rochdale	Linda Robinson (Lab)
Salford	Derek Antrobus (Lab)
Stockport	Kate Butler (Lab)
Tameside	Ged Cooney (Lab)
Trafford	James Wright (Lab)
Wigan	Carl Sweeney (Lab)

6. That the appointment of the following 10 Members, nominated by the GM Local Authorities to the GM Reform Committee for 2017819, be agreed:

District	Member
Bolton	Mrs Linda Thomas (Lab)
Bury	Eamonn O'Brien (Lab)
Manchester	Sue Murphy (Lab)
Oldham	Arooj Shah (Lab)
Rochdale	Liam O'Rourke (Lab)
Salford	John Merry (Lab)
Stockport	Elise Wilson (Lab)
Tameside	Bill Fairfoull (Lab)
Trafford	Cath Hynes (Lab)
Wigan	Nazia Rehman (Lab)

7. That the following nominations by GM Local Authorities to the Statutory Functions Committee for 2018/19, be agreed and that GM Local Authorities will provide nominations to the vacant substitute positions:

District	Member	Substitute Member
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
Bolton	Akhtar Zaman (Lab)	Anne-Marie Watters (Lab)
Bury	ТВА	ТВА
Manchester	Bernard Stone (Lab)	Vacancy
Oldham	Norman Briggs (Lab)	Adrian Alexander (Lab)
Rochdale	Janet Emsley (Lab)	Daniel Meredith (Lab)
Salford	ТВА	Jane Hamilton (Lab)
Stockport	Tom McGee (Lab)	Wendy Wild (Lab)
Tameside	Leanne Feeley (Lab)	ТВА
Trafford	Laurence Walsh (Lab)	Mike Freeman (Lab)
Wigan	Nazia Rehman (Lab)	Bill Clarke (Lab)

- 8. That it be noted that the Terms of Reference of the Statutory Functions Committee are under review and will be submitted to AGMA for consideration at a later date.
- 9. That the appointment of the following 10 members, nominated by the GM Local Authorities to the GM Pensions Fund Management Panel for 2018/19:

District	Member	
Bolton	Champak Mistry (Lab)	
Bury	Joan Grimshaw (Lab)	
Manchester	Paul Andrews (Lab)	
Oldham	Cath Ball (Lab)	
Rochdale	Shaun O'Neill (Lab)	
Salford	Michele Barnes (Lab)	
Stockport	John Pantall (Lib Dem)	
Tameside	Brenda Warrington (Lab)	
Trafford	Alan Mitchell (Con)	
Wigan	Terry Halliwell (Lab)	

10. That the following member and Chief Executive, as Portfolio Lead and Chief Executive for Culture be appointed to the Halle Board:

		Member
AGMA Executive	Portfolio Lead for Culture	Linda Thomas
Member		
Chief Executive		Donna Hall

- 11. That the appointment of Derek Antrobus to the People's History Museum Board be approved.
- 12. That it be noted that Eddie Moores (Oldham) was appointed to the Council of Governors for the Christie Hospital NHS Foundation Trust for a three year term of appointment, to be reviewed in June 2019.

AGMA 12/18 SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS

RESOLVED /-

That it be agreed that meetings of the AGMA Executive Board will take place on the same day as the GMCA, when required.